Good news about my lymphedema!

After less than two weeks of bandaging, these two areas of the ring finger on my right hand went numb and feeling didn’t come back. I was told to try taking the bandages off for three hours and see what happened. Nothing. Then, I was told to leave them off for eight hours. Nothing. So Dr. Chang, physiatrist with the Cancer Survivorship Centre at Princess Margaret, sent me for a nerve conduction study (a really freaky test I don’t hope to ever need again) that found it was a branch of the digital nerve, no idea why, no treatment, no reason for it to spread, keep going with the bandaging.

I have definitely been in a stall with this blog, and I blame it all on my lymphedema. And the fatigue, but this post is about the arm. For the last three months everything has been about my arm: it hurts, it burns, it feels bloated and heavy, it pinches, my hand cramps, my skin crawls, it’s numb, it’s pins and needles, etc., etc., ad nauseam. It won’t fit in any clothes, I can’t get comfortable at night, my fingertips freeze, bandaging takes forever, I AM NOT NOR EVER WILL BE AN RMT!

Two weeks ago, after almost three months of massaging, exercising, bandaging and Cobanning, I went from 24% to 11% more than the left arm. Even though I was told that 11% was good enough to move back into a sleeve, my thinking was that if I stopped bandaging at 11% and went to a sleeve, which only maintains your size, the next time I would flare it would be in addition to an arm that was already 11% larger than the other. My flare this summer was a 21% increase, so if next summer I increase the same amount, I’d be looking at an arm 32% larger than my unaffected one.

This may be a flawed theory, who knows, but it makes sense to me.

I was so deflated and hopeless and angry after that measuring that I began the most aggressive bandaging and pumping and massaging (deep and surface) I had the entire time. I stared at that arm with such hatred I think it might have shrivelled a little just from the evil eye.

Yesterday I went for measuring at the Survivorship Centre at Princess Margaret again and there I was—6%!!!

That’s good enough for me! I went to my fitter—Mansuetta—and got measured for a new custom sleeve and glove. The thought of putting these bandages into a bag and burying it in my closet has me giddy. Wearing a sleeve and a glove will feel like running naked through a sprinkler on a scorching summer afternoon to me (that’s me as a kid, not now, God forbid).

In four weeks I will have my new gear, just in time for my return to work.  I’m looking at starting a graduated schedule the first week of December. More of that soon.

5 Responses

  1. I am glad to hear that at last you have a good response…

    • Thank you Helen! I feel like such a whiner about my arm when I know that having lymphedema in my leg would be so much worse. I don’t think I would be able to deal with it. I am following your new blog and was very happy to see you posting again!

      • Thank you… It took a while for my head to be ready to write again!!! Keep working in your arm it will improve, they say that over time the lymphatics create new path ways and that is what the MLD and bandages help to create. Over the years even before the LNT my LE has improved… Straight after my cancer treatment it was terrible… Take care Helen

  2. I love your perseverance and determination. I’m glad you got results!

Leave a Reply

