I have my surgery date!

Unknown-3

I received a call from my plastic surgeon’s secretary on Thursday with the date of my surgery: May 28. That had a few inconveniences attached to it—Tessa would be arriving back home from Russia the same evening; my boyfriend is planning to fly out May 29 to visit his sick father. But I don’t want to get caught in summer vacation roulette at the hospital, so it was a go. Pre-op on May 20.

I started the 27 Day Cleaning Countdown for the house. After this surgery I’ve been told there is no lifting, bending, raising arms, etc. With my current level of fatigue I achieve very little housecleaning, and the place has slid downhill. Anything that isn’t cleaned and sorted by May 27 will have to wait until mid-July, So Friday it was sort out the laundry room. 13 hours of sleep. Saturday was clean out front hall closet, sort, toss or Goodwill all footwear clear and wash front hall floor and baseboards, dust furniture.  3 hour nap; 13.5 hours of sleep. Sunday: 6 hours 15 minutes of sorting the garage, more laundry, cleaned out two kitchen cupboards. 3 hour nap; 2 hour nap, 9,5 hour sleep. Monday: Empty drawers in my room, pack some winter sweaters, reorganize upstairs linen closet, clean out and organize shelving unit in upper hall. 2 hour nap, 3.5 hour map, 9 hour sleep. I was channeling my anxiety over the surgery into cleaning, but it wasn’t doing anything about the fatigue. My house is looking better, and if I last three weeks, I’m sure the house would look houseguest-ready.

Then on Tuesday, the lovely secretary called with the offer to jump the surgery ahead two full weeks to May 14. Pros: My anxiety/dread/fear would be over two works earlier. Tessa will be spared having to be my personal support worker. My boyfriend will be here to take care of me. Cons: not enough time to clean house. No time to get the car fixed. Must have Luka’s birthday party this weekend. No travelling to Stratford for Mother’s Day. I’m still scared.

Unknown-1

So it’s on for Thursday, stay over one night, home on Friday. Preop is Tuesday.

Now I really need meditation and inner resources as  I climb clean the walls!

2 Responses

  1. Oh my! More surgery! What is this one for? I remember in s past post you wrote about it but I’ve forgotten the details. Sometimes it’s better that it happens fast, it gives you less time to panic lol and then it’s done and you can recover. Then when Nay 28th rolls around, you’ll be happy that it’s been over for 2 weeks already! I hope that’s it all goes anyways! I’ll be thinking of you and sending you healing energy ❤ love you ❤

    • Exactly! The date was fixed at May 28, then I got the call offering surgery two full weeks later and I thought YAY I CAN STOP TRYING TO CLEAN!!! No, really, I was trying to clean. I thought, all I’ll be doing is worrying for the next three weeks, so why not cut that time way down? Doc says I am healing nicely, and I’m writing a post today to that effect. Keep sending the healing energy!

Leave a Reply

