Lymphedema, my BFF, and I borrow clothes!!!

My new lymphedema compression sleeve and glove.

My new lymphedema compression sleeve and glove.

Well, I borrowed from her, but I’m lending her nothing.

  • Diagnosis: Nov 6, oncology surgeon Dr. Jory Simpson
  • Assessment and first treatment: Nov 20, Lindsay Davey, Toronto Physiotherapy
  • Compression garment measurement: Nov 24, Mancie at Mansueta
  • Drove to Toronto Physiotherapy to pick up original ADP papers: Nov 24
  • Drove to St. Michael’s Hospital for my oncologist Dr. Christine Brezden-Masley to sign off on ADP papers: Nov 24
  • Drove to St. Mike’s to pick up ADP papers, all signed: Nov 26 (thank you Adiba!)
  • Compression sleeve and glove fitted: Nov 27, Mancie

So, the sleeve and glove are over-the-counter, fitted to my measurements as closely as possible. The two pieces are $234.oo. Once the government agrees to my diagnosis and need for custom pieces, the government program with cover 75% of the cost. The custom stuff costs three or four times the over-the-counter stuff. Ug. That’s how I understand at least, so I will wait for the approval to order the custom set.

Getting it on in the shop was a breeze, getting it on at home was a horror. Tessa did it. If she wasn’t home, I don’t think I’d have got it on without tearing my left rotator cuff or something. It hurts like stink getting it on, but once it’s in place it feels fine. Good, in fact, like I’m doing something about this stupid condition.

And don’t they look fine?

CAM00473

 

CAM00476

 

CAM00479

I am hanging on to one little scrap of vanity and self-care, since my hair is a wreck, eyebrows are sparse and my mood is crap. I can still paint these nails.

 

10 Responses

  1. The fact that you have lymphedema sucks, but the fact that you have a sleeve & glove to help ease it is great. Your nails are looking sweet and actually, in the pic, your hair is looking pretty funky in a good way 🙂
    I’m trying to figure out a way to go see my mom in early 2015 (need to find $$$) and I’m also trying to figure out how I can stop in TO as well. My daughter Melissa & her family are planning a July trip east so I’m going to attempt to go at the same time. Not easy when I’ve been shoved to the bottom of the holiday seniority list at work 😦 but we’ll see… I’m going to try ❤ sending love and hugs to you ❤
    Jen xoxo

    • Hi there! Thank you for the nice words about the hair: today I even thought I’d shave it again, it’s in such dry and gross condition. I am considering a mayonnaise pack one of these nights.

      A new house makes travel seem even more $$$. I hear you. I honestly think money is the biggest problem after health. Anytime you can get close, just tell me. I think your mum would be very happy to see you. ❤

  2. You’ve got a great attitude as you work with the hand you’ve been dealt (excuse the sort of pun).

  3. What compression rating is the sleeve … 30-40mmHg?

    • I’m not sure, I’ll check at home where I am saving the boxes (of course). I cannot imagine getting compression hose on. Putting this thing on every morning kills. Do you do it lying down? I do the full massage thing before I leave the bed in the morning. Are you thinking of knitting me a sleeve?? 😉

  4. Love the smile on your face and the positive attitude! It really helps a lot. If you are having trouble with donning and doffing of the compression garment at home try watching a video and practicing. I know the place who trained me has a youtube account where they put out instructional videos, Klose Training is the institution. Also I know you have an OTC compression but many places that make customs such as Jovi Pak, Jobst, Solaris, etc have instructional videos or the donning and doffing as well. Try and give them a call or checkout their websites
    Keep smiling!

  5. I think you are working the hair AND the nails. Had to look up lymphedema. That sucks! I’m glad you’re taking charge as much as you can. I find that sometimes even putting on a happy face for the blog is enough to get me out of my funk. Wishing you better days! (And thanks very much for visiting my blog. It’s always nice to see you!)

Leave a Reply

