Chemo nails

This post is out of order as far as my treatment goes: my fingernails were at their worst in March and April. They are back to their original state now. My toenails have not fared so well—I lost five of them, and while three of the little ones have entirely grown back, my two big toes are nailless, or rather, half-nailed (my control of the English language is not at its best now either, hmmm). I have a referral to chiropody to check out what’s going on there, but I digress.

I have always loved painting my nails, from Grade 7 on (prior to Grade 7, we had to line up at the back door of St. Aloyisus School, hands held out in front, palms down, so Mother Anacleta Miles could inspect our nails and their nakedness—even a hint of colourless nail polish meant you were sent home). It’s a tiny bit of prettiness, along with wearing rings, that I came to enjoy even more when working on a keyboard all day long (particularly because I never took typing at school, and still have to look at the keyboard to type, which means I really do see my nails a lot).

So when cancer was making me feel like I was out of control of just about everything, and I was spending a lot of time at home, I did my nails. One of the side effects of chemo is damage to nails, both finger and toe. As my nails got uglier to look at, I did then more often. It is even recommended to use colourless polish to keep nails strong. Two of the chemos that do the most damage are Taxol and Doxorubicin, both of which I took. Beau-Reil lines are lines that go across each nail, marking each high dose chemo like the rings of a tree, while koilonychia is the spooning of the nail. They turn yellow, crack, break, even pop or tear right off.

I took pics of my nails on their way to luckiness. I’ve been carrying those photos on my phone, and when I needed to make space on the phone, I found them. Hence, this post. Here goes (check out the middle finger—it was the first nail on each hand to go):

CAM00182#1

CAM00233#1

CAM00255#1

CAM00288

 

CAM00308

CAM00289

CAM00290

After four of my eight rounds of chemo, this is what my nails looked like. Yech! But once the chemo drugs cleared out of my system, the nails that I lost grew back, and the ones that just broke and got gross grew out. I still have some lingering neuropathy in three fingertips on my right hand, but that’s it.

The jury is still out on the toenails, though. Fingernails grow three times faster than toenails, but the complete lack of nail growth on the tootsies has me happy that sandal weather is long gone. 😉

3 Responses

  1. My fingernails took a beating from chemo. I didn’t know taxols were the drugs so hard on nails. I had docetaxol and my thumbs are still ridged and break down to the quick about once every 2 weeks. After 3 years post-chemo, I don’t know if they will ever be the same again.

    You”ve got some great nail art going on in those pictures! I still have trouble coloring between the lines or in this case, coloring the nail only and not the surrounding skin.

  2. I hope they all mend up for you. We have the same nails… must be from the Murrant side 🙂

Leave a Reply

