Crack out the fireworks: Best possible outcome I could have hoped for!!!

This is what is going on in my backyard tonight. Bring a blanket! Courtesy of Nagoya-info.com http://nagoya-info.com/4249/the-beauty-of-hanabi-in-japan/

This is what is going on in my backyard tonight. Bring a blanket! Courtesy of Nagoya-info.com http://nagoya-info.com/4249/the-beauty-of-hanabi-in-japan/

 

I am so happy! Even though the surgeon told me my pathology wasn’t available yet, THREE WEEKS after surgery when it should have been ready in seven days, and then he sent his nurse off to find out why, and I stood in the hall afraid I would actually throw up, and his nurse came back and said it was just being signed off and uploaded, and we—Tessa, my man and I—went to sit down and wait, when he finally handed it to me and said, “Here you go. It’s all gone,” I could barely believe it.

“You mean I had a complete pathological response?”

“Yes.”

“So this is the best possible thing?”

“Yes.”

“So this gives me the best prognosis?”

“Yes. There is no cancer in any of the nodes, except for the first one, of course [the one he removed for the diagnosis]. And none in the breast tissue.”

And he handed me the report, which Tessa and my man and I went over line by line, with varying levels of understanding. My oncologist will explain it tome in such detail in a week that she said I will understand every single word of it. For now, it says no evidence of cancer and that’s enough for me!!!

THANK YOU, EVERYONE WHO READS HERE, AND THOSE WHO HAVEN’T YET, FOR SENDING GOOD VIBES, PRAYING, CROSSING FINGERS, KNOCKING WOOD, STABBING CANCER DOLLS WITH SHARP OBJECTS (you know who you are), FOR SUPPORTING ME AND BEING THERE FOR ME. I NEEDED YOU AND YOU CAME THROUGH. THANK YOU!

Here is a beautiful display of Kumano fireworks, the best in the world. Turn off all the lights in the room, go to full screen, and imagine you are in Japan enjoying hanabi.

 

 

 

22 Responses

  1. Oh Jackie!!!!! I am so happy to hear this news!! I don’t even have the words to express how absolutely happy I am for you and your family .
    Tracy :))

    • Me neither! Imagine, my mouth runs a mile a minute, and then, nothing! Thank you for the good wishes, and for listening to me when I ramble!

  2. YAAAAAAYYYYYY!!!!!!!!! I HAVE TEARS OF JOY THAT YOU’RE CANCER FREE!!!!!!! WHAT A RELIEF FOR YOU AND ALL OF US THAT LOVE YOU!!! XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOX ❤

    • Thank you and yes, yes, yes! Now I feel like I will live through this!

      • I’ve decided that I’m going to plan a road trip east next summer. It might be a financial stretch, but I’m going to work on it.

      • And will you come in Fiona, your beautiful ogre-green Jeep?? That would be so fantastic!

      • Yes! Hence my blog… The Green Jeep Adventures! 😄 I have a lot of adventuring to do and crossing Canada to see family is high on the list.

  3. Genuinely happy for you. Good news, indeed. As a cancer and bi-lateral orchiectomy survivor I understand how welcome the news is. Peace.

    • Hearing—seeing the report in black and white—that there was no cancer left in the nodes and in both breast tissues has changed the colour of my outlook on this cancer. You’ve been through your own hell, so I thank you for your good wishes. I’m going to follow you, so maybe talk later too.

  4. I had no idea Jackie. I’m so happy you’re well. All of my love to you and your kids. Xoxoxo

    • The results of these tests point the way to a good prognosis for me from this triple negative breast cancer. Now on to radiation. So good hearing from you!!!! How is the weather? Or is that a silly question?

  5. So wonderful!!! The relief and joy is palpable.

  6. What great news – yahoo, woodeedoo, yeah, rah, fantastic news – you must feel fantastic today to be relieved from the stress of not knowing.
    Relax and take it easy now (if you can) – you are probably racing around on top of the world. Congrats!!!!!

    • Hi! The stress of the last week had me so freaked that all I wanted to do was sleep, but I had to get in to Princess Margaret Hospital for 9:30 this morning to meet the radiology team. But I feel so relieved, so much lighter, so not living under a two-ton weight. It feels great!

  7. I’m sooooooo happy to read this post! Happy dance for you in 1….2…..3!

  8. WaaaaaaHOOOOO! I am crying and jumping up and down and telling everyone I know. I am so happy for you… I can’t believe you went through this and came out the other side with your humor and all intact! You are a better woman than me… Stronger in all ways!

    Dinny tomorrow night?

    • I don’t know… I think you’re one amazingly strong chick as well! No cancer in the nodes and tissue is the best possible outcome I could have dreamed for. Now hope that radiation guns down and annihilates anything left in there and I’ll be over the roughest parts. Let’s talk about dinner? Sounds doable, and check out the latest post—a super amazing gift has brought cancer-healthy dining TO MY HOUSE!

  9. Yay!!! I love the way the fireworks look like beautiful cancer-free breasts and lymph nodes. Perfect!! I couldn’t be happier for you. I hope you can take some time to thoroughly enjoy the success of this phase before starting stress about the next.

    I’m disappointed we missed each other at PMH yesterday. I would have loved to give you this hug in person, even without my immune system.

    Big big hugs,
    Julia

  10. So pleased for you! Woo hoo!

  11. Congrats on this great news. I, too, was lucky enough to get cPR and it’s an amazing relief. Keep on kicking its butt!

Leave a Reply

