My tongue is no longer wrapped in Vaseline!

Image

Here is a rant I’ve been meaning to have, but haven’t because it seems very petty in light of cancer and chemo and blisters and pain. I had mouth sores that killed, and moved out to the corners of my mouth, which was both painful and pretty, and I did complain about them.

The most annoying, disappointing and frustrating side effect of my chemos has been the fact that I cannot taste anything. That is apart from foods tasting too spicy and hot when in reality they weren’t hot at all according to everyone else at the table. When food didn’t taste too hot, it tasted like my mouth and tongue were covered in Vaseline. Like no flavour could get through, no matter how good it smelled, or looked, or even when I made it myself, and seasoned it just right just like I would always season it—it tasted like NOTHING. And I behaved like Einstein’s definition of insanity: “doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” I made my special spareribs with secret molasses orange sauce, roasted garlic mashed Yukon potatoes,  roasted marinated peppers, even my beautiful cookies, and nothing tasted like it was supposed to. Nothing tasted like anything!

But now, after another rollicking week of not being able to taste anything the way it is supposed to be tasted, I had THE FIRST THING THAT TASTED NORMAL SINCE THE BEGINNING OF JANUARY!!!

Image

!st prize for a food tasting like what it is supposed to taste like goes to half a toasted everything bagel with Philadelphia herb and garlic cream cheese!

Now of course I’m not going to eat anything for hours in hours, in case this was a fluke. I want to luxuriate in a taste that tastes the way it is supposed to taste!

One Response

  1. Let’s hope the tastebuds are back!

Leave a Reply

