Things I Love Thursday: a new book—Do I Need to See the Doctor?—and a giveaway!

DoINeedToSeeTheDoctor_CovertiltWell hello, and I’m back on the Things I Love Thursday blog carnival! In the few weeks that I haven’t played, the number of bloggers have increased threefold—yay Jill! What I love about Things I Love is the fact that these are honest endorsements by real folks.

Things I Love is a self-explanatory theme, but I’ll go ahead and explain anyway—or rather, I’ll let Jill explain:  “pick an actual thing that you love. Feel free to do a product review, but make sure to let your readers know that you have been supplied with the product to review so we are keepin’ it honest.” Yes, this is an endorsement to be sure, but I borrowed it from a friend, and now the two copies I have been supplied with are going to be given away to two of you! For more excellent things that we love, check out The DiaperDiaries.net.

Here’s a quiz: Every time one of your kids has a symptom, what is your first thought?

  • I told him not to play in the sandbox
  • can ringworm be that perfectly round?
  • what side is the appendix on?
  • how long has that been like that?
  • do I have any thermometers left?
  • do i need to see the doctor?

Ha!

“Do I Need to See the Doctor?” is the title of a new home treatment encyclopedia—don’t groan, it’s a concise 218 pages long—that was written by three working doctors—Brian Murat, Greg Stewart and John Rea— (personal observation: all three of them are cute, married and with kids. oh well). What I love about this book is the in-your-face design, nature and writing. It mirrors in print exactly what your mind is grasping for when you have a sick kid. There are tons of photos, charts, sidebars and a flow chart for each illness that I wish I could reproduce here to show you. The page first presents the topic, say Umbilical Cord Care, then gives a summary of what it is, and what should happen to it. Next, the flow chart begins with a big circle that says START HERE, with an arrow pointing dow. Don’t you already feel like these doctors know how to take care of you so you can take care of yours?

Then there are a series of questions, which you answer, and your answer will direct you to

  1. See your doctor
  2. See the section Home Suggestions, and then start the flowchart again after a specified time limit. 

Home suggestions are good, common sense measures, tricks, treatment and care to undertake in the hopes you can cure the ailment and alleviate any discomfort along the way. After you’ve tried the Home Suggestions, you go back to the flowchart and assess the condition again.

This is an excellent book for parents and even parents-to-be, since a range of just-post-birth conditions are covered, as are baby, toddler, child, teen and adult illnesses. The doctors even cover issues of mental health, from depression, anxiety and psychosis to domestic violence and dementia.

I love this book. And you can too! The lovely rep at Wiley, the publisher, has given me two books to give away, so answer even one of my questions in the comment box below and you’ll be entered to win! I’ll pick the winner April 2, so pass the link on to anyone you think would like to win!

MY QUESTIONS FOR YOU: when you make the big decision to keep a kid home from school sick, do they stay in their bed all day LIKE WE USED TO? Or do they get to run around and play the computer, watch TV, wear no socks and ask for gingerale? (this is my house, if you haven’t yet guessed). Do you often feel like a dork taking your kids to the doctor just to be told “It’s a cold. It’s going around.” Got any secret family remedies you’d like to share?

Best of luck to you all!


15 Responses

  1. Oh man, do I ever need this book. My oldest has chronic bronchitis and I severely dislike taking him to the doctor, but feel guilty if I don’t.

    And usually the time I decide not to go is the time it turns out to be pneumonia or a serious ear infection and he needs antibiotics.

    So, to answer your question, no, I don’t feel bad for going to the doctor. I do get mad when they try to make me feel like a dork though.

  2. My kids usually get to lie on the couch all day and watch TV. If they fall asleep while watching TV, then I know they are really sick! They do have friends, however, who stay home from school “sick” then invite them over after school. My kids know that if they are too sick to go to school, they are too sick to do anything else.

  3. I actually have 2 of my 4 sick right now! They usually sack out on the couch or floor with their pillows and blankets. And I have a stash of cheap DVD’s that I keep on hand to break out on days like this.

  4. When toddlers get sick, it seems to come on so quickly and when you least expect it. So this sounds like a great book to have on hand.

  5. I rarely take my kids to the doctor for that reason. Most of the time you cannot get into your family doctor and are forced to go to walk-in clinic, to a doctor that does not know your child, who prescribes medicine within minutes of seeing your child. Instead we stay home and give him lots of fluids and tylenol when necessary. I wish my kids would lie on the couch and watch television when they were sick. My son will be sick but a little more whiney, but still be running around the house like crazy.

  6. this would come in so handy!!

  7. I definatly think do i need to see the doctor?

  8. When my kids tell me they are sick, for some reason I tell them I am going to take them to the doctor and if they are not sick they decide that they would sooner go to school

  9. They run around with no socks and a runny nose!

  10. For the most part i try to leave them at home because i know other parents wouldn’t appreciate their kids being exposed.

  11. I call my mother (she’s a nurse) before I make a call to see the Dr.

  12. I trusted my kids when they said they were sick. I made them buttered toast that were cut into logs and chicken soup, served up popsicles, set them up to watch animated movies and kept them in. They soon got bored if they were getting well and rarely stayed home more than one day.

  13. My daughter is a fairly new mom (her daughter is almost 3) and she could really use this book.

    You know, “grandma’s know nothing. Things have changed since your kids were small”. rofl rofl.

    So since my daughter thinks I know nothing after raising 3 kids, then she needs this book. So she can see lots of the advice is the same. 🙂 🙂

  14. I do let them stay home but it sure isn’t like it used to be. I had to stay in bed in my room, but unless they’re feverish, it seems like they have the run of the house sometimes!

  15. When my children were young & “too ill” to go to school they were either sleeping / resting in bed or allowed to be “tucked in” on the sofa. While on the sofa they could watch some mom approved tv shows.
    But to be honest my kids seemed to always have something “real” when I called the doctor for them… for example, ear infections, or strep throat. I don’t recall being told very often that it was just a “cold” they’d get over it (that usually was something that I was told about my own illnesses!!!) Now that they are parents sometimes they will run the question by me as to whether or not they should bring their child to the doctor and I am usually telling them if there is a fever or some other reason to concern them then call the dr. & ask if they think the symptoms warrent a visit or if they can advise them over the phone what to “look for”.
    I think as my grandchildren begin school (this Sept. for the oldest one) this book would be a great asset for the family. (so many germs get shared & often for the first time when school begins)

Leave a Reply

