From the mouths of babes: a 15-year-old babe this time

My Graydon, my son, my cancer kid, my challenge. He is very, very bright, leading me to have as one of my mantras during meetings with helping professionals, “Use your smarts for good, not evil.”

At a school re-entry meeting on Thursday (yes, to need a re-entry meeting at school, one must have been turfed from school in the first place), in the first few minutes of the meeting as attendees straightened papers, found pens and opened diaries, Graydon let us in his latest telephone solicitation solution.

“So, I answer the phone, and it’s one of those ‘It has come to our attention that your car’s warranty is running out…’ ”

We all nod and agree, yes, we’re all getting those calls.

“So I say, ‘Oh yeah, really?'”

Graydon is 15, and only dreaming of getting behind the wheel.

“So, he says he has to confirm the spelling of my name, and I say Graydon, G-R-A-Y-D-O-N, Ponzi, P-O-N-Z-I.

“So then he says, ‘Now I have a few questions for you,’ and I say ‘Now I have a few questions for you,’ and he says, ‘Can I have the make of your car?’ and I say, ‘Can I have the make of your car?’ and he says, ‘Could I have the year of your car, sir?’ and I say, ‘Can I have the year of your car, sir?’ and he says, ‘Do you want to hear about our car warranty?’ and I say, ‘Do you want to hear about our car warranty?’ and then he says, ‘I’ll be putting you on our no-call list then, sir?’ and I said ‘Yes, thank you!”

Nice going, Graydon!

Leave a Reply

