A hello from Abu Dhabi

These are the cookies I made for Deepika, starts because she was the bright light in our shared office, and she never failed to make me laugh. They have raised the question of whether I have time to make the Valentine's cookies I always do this week...

These are the cookies I made for Deepika, stars because she was the bright light in our shared office, and she never failed to make me laugh. They have raised the question of whether I have time to make the Valentine cookies I always make…

You know how you always say, when a friend moves away, “Let’s keep in touch!” and you do, for a couple of weeks, and then the emails pile up, and you get busy, and the road to hell is paved with good intentions? Well, I sent a hello to a former coworker who had moved back to Abu Dhabi last year, and guess what? I received a hello back from Deepika. What a huge adjustment she has made! From the breadwinner for her children while here in Canada, she is now not a lady of leisure, as we may call it, but “alma de la casa, translated from Spanish as ‘soul of the house,’ ” she writes. “I’ve started Arabic and golf lessons.  I’m teaching yoga once a week.” She has also joined a ladies’ club that meets for coffee in the morning. Their theme the other day was Love and Chocolate, and she said, and I quote: “Apart from all the cakes, chocolates and cocoa drinking chocolate there were heart-shaped cookies too, but none as good as the ones you baked for me.”

Awwww….

With Valentine’s Day approaching fast, I have been going back and forth on whether I have time to bake the fancy cookies I always do. There’s no doubt that I am busy enough this week that I won’t miss making them, but the question that dogs me is “Will Luka miss them?” So I asked, and he said, “Naw. It’s OK, I have chocolate hearts to give out, remember?” Of course I remember, I bought them. There was a twinge at the thought that machine-wrapped candy could replace hand-baked and -decorated cookies, but hey, I’ll take some saved time this year.

After a couple of seconds, though, he says, “Wait a minute. Don’t we make those cookies every year?”

“Yes.”

“So, they’re a tradition, right?”

“Yes.”

“Well then, we have to make them.

Traditions are a major fixation for my little guy these days. So, that was decided.

And back to Deepika. When I wrote her back, and asked if she’d mind if I wrote about her in my blog, I also asked her if she’d want the recipe for the cookies she liked so much. She wrote back: “Thank you, but no thanks for the recipe.  I love to eat, but I could never take the trouble.  It’s too much work for me.” And she reminded me of a gift I made for her—a bracelet, for which I let her choose the beads. “I love the bracelet, please mention that too. I chose the green colour as the colour green signifies growth and if you want to get all mushy you can say how friendship should bloom,  and  something creative like a blog posting should come out of it.  Right?”

Yes friend, you are right!

Leave a Reply

