Things I Love Thursday: Amazing Baby by Desmond Morris PLUS a contest!

tilt.jpgThis blog carnival is called Things I Love Thursday. The rules are simple: “pick an actual thing that you love. Feel free to do a product review, but make sure to let your readers know that you have been supplied with the product to review so we are keepin’ it honest.” This Thursday the thing I love is a book, Amazing Baby by Desmond Morris, and the publisher—Firefly Books—has given me two copies (hardcover, $40) and they’re both up to be won! Read on!

This post could also be called People I Love, and right there beside Tessa, Graydon and Luka (my three babies) would be Desmond Morris. It was his book The Naked Ape that made loving my babies as easy as it was. This new book—Amazing Baby—will do the same for every parent or parent-to-be who reads it. It is sumptuous to look at and hold, with the most beautiful photography and glassine paper overlays, and so freeing in the text that if you don’t have a baby to hold, I’m pretty sure you’ll be visiting a friend with a baby to get some cuddle time. I tried Ferberizing my first baby, and quit after about, well, one night. Morris gave me the permission I needed to respond to her cries and need to be held and fed when she wanted, not when a silly routine said to. He said we were the only mammal on earth to intentionally separate mother from baby, and that it was unnatural. That sounded sound to me. I responded to my babies’ cries, coos, outstretched arms, all on their schedules, not mine. Family bed, too. Attachment parenting is a lovely thing.

Amazing Baby traces the first two years of babies, with insight on their biology, development and behaviour. It’s an unmitigated lovefest of babies. You know who can say it best? Mr. Desmond. Click to see his two-minute spot on YouTube—again, I love this man.

Can you tell how much I love his book too???

So, how can you win one?

Answer this question: What is the most amazing thing about a baby in your life?

A panel of three will choose two lucky winners next Friday, November 28 December 7. I forgot my American readers will be having Thanksgiving and their Black Friday frenzy, so I’ve extended the contest a week. Grab a coffee and think about those warm, wonderful, trusting little humans and get writing!

For more excellent things that bloggers love, check out The DiaperDiaries.net.


10 Responses

  1. The top of his head,
    the sole of his toes,
    his eyes.
    Calm me, astound me.
    My amazing baby.

  2. I may be full of faults, I may be crabby, I may just want to take a nap. But my baby still loves me. She still thinks I’m the best mommy ever. She still smiles up at me,and cuddles in when I hold her close. Her love is unconditional.

  3. The most amazing thing about a baby in my life is that it is waiting to be born to my brother and sister in law. I am so excited for them and I would love to give them this book.

  4. Babies are pure love from the moment of conception until they arrive into this world. Some come and bring such sorrow mixed with the love as my Sweet Joshua Paul did at 1 lb. 6 oz. & 12.5 inches just to be in the arms of Jesus while others arrive like my 3 “princesses” Kyla, Adriana, and Kamryn did all red and wrinkley with song bursting from their lungs strong & powerful. Each precious child is a gift we can not always comprehend how incredibly special their lives truly are yet as they grow so do we in wonder and awe at each new milestone.
    Babies have been & always will be the most precious gift God grants us in our lives.
    That is what makes babies so amazing to me.

  5. Hi,
    The most amazing about the babies in my life is that they are all different. I know, I know, that sounds like a statement of the obvious. I would be horrified if my mom thought that I was the same as my two brothers, but still every day I look at my 3 amazing daughters and I wonder how 3 people can be so different. They were different from day one, and it is incredible how each baby out there is completely different from every other one. It is one of those things that I find hard to describe though – because on the surface there are many ways that they are alike – except that they are not even close to being the same.
    I also love the way they smell (even poopy :-)), and the way they snuggle into your neck and arms.
    There is a feeling of completeness in your heart as you hold a baby, and a wish that somehow you can make a difference and change the world for the better for this small person.

  6. She has this amazing ability to make me smile with her little antics. Her hugs takes away the worst of the say. Her laugh is so infectious. She reminds me to slow down when I am stressed. She is an angel. Her love is so unconditional.

  7. Whenever a baby simply notices me and smiles, my worthiness as a person is renewed. I look forward to being a grandmother as I did to become a mother.

  8. The promise of hope.

  9. The most amazing things about the babies in my life:

    They learn, even if we do not teach them.
    They love us, even if we do not love ourselves.
    They see good, even if we surround them with bad.
    They smile when they see us, even if we have had the worst day.
    They show endurance, even if we put obstacles in their way.
    They love our voice, even if we cannot sing.
    They bring comfort, especially when its been too long since we’ve been touched.
    They find happiness in the smallest thing, and remind us to do the same.
    They love to play, and show us it is okay to do the same.
    They need us, almost as much as we need them.

  10. The most amazing thing about my new little boy is seeing him wake up to my face over the crib and watching him break out in a huge smile. Then starting a new day where he will discover something new (like his fingers) making him smile again. There is nothing better than a baby who just discovered his smiles 🙂

Leave a Reply

