Some things are too big to write about

Photobucket

I have been absent from my blog here for a few days. I’m back and picking up the pace now.

My excuses:

I took a course.

I went on a vacation (oh, sorry, I thought this was a wishlist) a laundry eradication spree.

I had child doctor/teacher/talk doctor appointments EVERY DAY.

I had blogger’s block. This is when everything in my head is too big to say. When stories in the news seem terrifyingly real because they deal with parenting, something we all know there are no exams to pass or qualifications to meet before we take on the job.

15-year-old Brandon Crisp‘s death—traceable to his parents putting their feet down and making a parental decision that might just have resulted in their son getting angry and slamming some doors, but instead kicked off a tragic series of events.

• An eight-year-old boy in Arizona admits to shooting and killing his father and a co-worker who boarded in their house. His parents had shared custody. His mother says the child had become withdrawn in the last few months. The father had spanked the boy the day of the shooting. In their town, it’s the norm for children and parents to shoot together for sport.

13-year-old Hannah Jones in England, diagnosed and treated for leukemia at age five, developed a hole in her heart as a result of her chemotherapy. The heart transplant she needs would only prolong her life if it didn’t kill her and if it didn’t bring on a relapse of her leukemia. She has won the right to refuse the transplant, with her parents’ consent. She wants to die at home, not in a hospital.

Such huge issues. Each one of them strikes close to my home, and most likely to some of yours. They give rise to valuable discussion at the water cooler, the dinner table and the car ride to the mall.

So, blogger’s block to me is stuff too large to handle on a one-way dialogue. There’s never enough information on the news. I’m leaving the commentary on these stories to the replies on the news sites.

My heart goes out to these parents and the depths of their despair. I close this post the way I close my posts on Graydon’s CaringBridge cancer battle blog: hug your kids tightly.

Next posting here: Meet-a-Blogger Monday!

3 Responses

  1. You’re right, Jacquelyn. Sometimes it all gets to be too much. After having my own, I found myself getting increasingly upset by news stories about children. I often stopg myself from reading any further once I know the direction of such stories. It’s not that I want to remain ignorant to what is happening in the world. It’s that they often leave me feeling such deep emotions for all involved that it can be too much. And don’t even get me started on movies about children in peril…that’s not entertainment to me and so I avoid those films.

    We can only hope that some good comes out of these sad stories. That we all try to think how we could be better parents and people. That we all learn by the mistakes of others, and that we remember, as you remind us, that we hug our kids tightly.

  2. Hey Jackie,

    Wow … yeah, that’s a little too much for any parent to digest. That’s why I tend to skip stories in the media or movies involving harm coming to kids.

    Hope your minions are well. Ehren misses Luka … wants to have another Halloween party so everyone can hang out again *chuckle*.

  3. As a follow-up to hoping something good comes out of this…

    I notice on their Web site that Canadian Tire is collecting donations for their Jump Start Charity on behalf of Brandon Crisp as requested by his parents. According to their site, “Funds collected on Brandon’s behalf will be directed to communities across Canada to help kids in financial need participate in organized sport and recreational activities of their choice.” What a nice way of acknowledging him.

Leave a Reply

