Things I Love Thursday: leaving the holiday planning to someone else!

tilt.jpgThis blog carnival is called Things I Love Thursday. The rules are simple: “pick an actual thing that you love. Feel free to do a product review, but make sure to let your readers know that you have been supplied with the product to review so we are keepin’ it honest.” Well, this little service is free for the asking! For more excellent things that bloggers love, check out The DiaperDiaries.net.

For years I was the most organized Christmas person alive. I started buying and stockpiling presents in February, always finishing before October, even my handmade gifts. Cards all written out and mailed in time. Baking finished in time, some of it frozen, some of it stored. I even ran a fair number of the holiday initiatives in my former office—staff children’s party, gift exchange, champagne breakfast, corporate gifting for my department.

Then came kids and Santa got involved, then came all kinds of other things and details and I turned to the professional: Cynthia (the CEO) of organizedhome.com. She had a Christmas countdown that caught me speechless (I know, it doesn’t happen very often!): daily emails nagging reminding me what to do, who to contact, what to bake, where to clean, all with the goal of being practically task-free by the first week of December. And it works, by gum!

It was just difficult to also have a job and a family and a desire to sleep four hours a night.

So this year, I’m taking a new organized approach: I’ve signed on for the Canadian Living’s Holiday Countdown, which is six weeks of daily emails to guide the not-so-organized into organizational nirvana. At least as far as the holidays are concerned. If you want to give it a whirl, click here and go down the list of helpful newsletters (no joke, I get four of them) and put a check beside the 50-day Holiday Countdown. It begins November 12, and promises lovely holiday recipes, entertaining and decorating tips, without the guilt brought on by other countdowns (“If you haven’t baked and frozen eight tortieres by this morning, you will have no breakfast on the 25th. No time to cry. Start wiring pinecones!”).

For more excellent things that my peeps love, check out The DiaperDiaries.net.

QUESTIONS FOR YOU: is it too too early top think about Christmas for you?? Have you used a planner like this to remind you and keep you “in the season?” Do you need a reminder service, or do your holiday preps run like clockwork already?


4 Responses

  1. Okay, you talked me into it. I am pretty organized about decorating and gift buying, but I would like to do more cooking and making little gifts/food for people outside my immediate gifting circle, like neighbors. And I love being emailed and told what to do. Thanks for the rec!

  2. Oh so going there right now. How FABULOUS!!

  3. Don’t forget to mark down the cookie exchange at the end of November…the invites will go out next weekend!

  4. Way too soon for me to “think Christmas”. I haven’t bought my Halloween candy yet.

Leave a Reply

