Works for Me Wednesday: soothing the new puppy

wfmwbanner1.jpgWelcome to Shannon’s Works for Me Wednesday‘s blog carnival! We have a new member of the family, a Maltese puppy named Clover. We got him 10 days ago, and he is the sweetest animal I’ve ever had the pleasure to meet. And having a puppy is such a rush—like when I had babies, I couldn’t wait to get home to see what new thing they were doing. So for a little while, my posts will have lots of doggie stuff in it. Like today!

Photobucket

Today marks one week since we took our new puppy to the vet and got a clean bill of health (except for a baby tooth that came in crooked, and would in a perfect world be extracted by a veterinarian specializing in canine dentistry to the tune of $600 to $800—not going to happen). I told the kids what we did in my house when I was a kid and we got a new puppy—we closed off the kitchen, spread newspapers all over the floor, wrapped a loud alarm clock in a towel and slept on the floor with the puppy. As a kid, I thought that was very cool. My kids were unimpressed. They were not sleeping on any kitchen floor.

The first night he slept on my bed, no accidents. Second night he slept on Tessa’s bed, no accidents. On the third day he woke right up, and after about 20 trips outside, it became clear he was not going to be sleeping with any of us. So, Graydon took on the crating duty and did himself proud. He borrowed Tessa’s old-fashioned loud-ticking alarm clock, filled a bottle with hot water and wrapped both with one of our largest, fluffiest towels. Then he put in a little dish of water, a little dish of puppy food and his chew toys. He barely whimpered when Graydon went upstairs.

Fast forward a week, and puppy Clover was beside himself when Tessa tried to crate him. Not just whimpering and longing eyes, but actual whining, digging and the closest thing to barking we’ve heard. Tessa has a huge heart, and was no match for a puppy. She moved the crate upstairs, and put him in it. He cried and dug and jumped. Tessa whipped out her computer, did a search and came up with relaxation music for dogs, complete with a video component. She laid in bed and watched Clover as Clover watched the laptop, and he was first attentive, then mesmerized, then soothed, then asleep. A laptop tamed the lapdog. It works for me

Please leave a comment, and then click over to Shannon’s blog for a ton of tips on parenting, cooking, organizing, playing, you name it!

P.S.: I think we got the perfect pup. If you’re puppy shopping, check out this excellent list on the CL website!

5 Responses

  1. Hey! Thanks for the comment on my blog. To answer your question, I am not familiar with Ikea because we don’t have any in our area. I think the closest one is a state over 😦 I hear all kinds of good things about it though!

  2. Oh. My. Goodness. Cute puppy! One year ago at this time we had an adorable new puppy. Now we have a cute but annoying adolescent dog. I’ll have to look for this relaxation music.

    Thanks for your comment on my post about not sorting laundry. You made me laugh. Ironing? What’s that?

    Just a little aside: I was born in Canada and still have family in Ontario. 🙂

  3. Sorry, to hear of the loss of $$$.

    According to Dave Ramsey, 100% of any 10 year rolling period, the stock market has increased in value.

    Remember, look long term not short.

    How much do you get for snow shoveling? That might be another idea. We live in a place that we do not have that stuff. 🙂

  4. If a puppy is taken from the litter at the appropriate time, all the fancies in the cage shouldnt be needed. But kudos to Tessa for actually leaving puppy in its crate, even if it had to be moved upstairs!

  5. I would never have considered soothing music. Geez that girl is bright! I would have broken down put the dog in my bed and ended up relinquishing all but the very edge of my queen sized bed to a pup smaller than my head.

Leave a Reply

