Works for Me Wednesday: making reading fun for kids

wfmwbanner1.jpgWelcome to Shannon’s Works for Me Wednesday‘s blog carnival! The topic today is Kitchen Organization. I am in dire need of this information and in no position to offer any, so I am posting a rogue Works for Me Wednesday. I’ll try to keep up next themed day…

As I reported in a previous entry, Luka, my seven AND A HALF year old (the caps are his, as he is wont to stress every single time someone asks how old he is), still doesn’t like reading. Not only does he not like to, he doesn’t want to. It is pretty difficult today to replace the thrill of a DS or a PSP in the hand with a book.

This weekend, there was lots of reading to do, and I told him we had to think of a way to make it interesting. He disappeared for a while and returned like this:

Photobucket

Here he is explaining to our neighbour who he is and why he is here:

Photobucket

And then Darth set to the work he was meant to do:

Photobucket

The sound of his voice coming through the “voice changer” made a story about a garden of dead snails sound even more macabre than it already was. He read six books. Score!

It Works for Me!

Please leave a comment, and then click over to Shannon’s blog for a ton of tips on organizing your kitchen!


5 Responses

  1. I love your idea! Good work on making reading fun, Mom! I bet your son had a great time.

  2. Thanks! I needed that! I’ve been blogging about the trouble my son is having with reading. He is behind, and we’re doing ANYTHING we can to catch up! Thanks again for the rogue post–it was just what I needed!

  3. 6 books!!! Great way to get into reading. Should that fade remember comic books still count as reading, and if you find anything written on subjects he really has an interest in (even if it is not at his reading level) usually can grab the attention to get him more interested in reading.

  4. Is an hour in front of Facebook considered reading? My daughter, now 16, was reading storybooks at 4 years old, before kindergarten. Now, it’s a battle just to get her to read required books for English class in grade 11. She has never liked reading – it was the challenge of learning to read that she enjoyed. As a person who reads all the time and loves it … it does disappoint me that she doesn’t get the same thrill from getting lost in a book that I do. We can teach them to read, we can make them read, but we can’t make them like it. Darn.

  5. Reading is often hard to like when it is something that you are required to do. I remember hiding the books I wanted to read inside of textbooks. Textbooks were required reading; not near as interesting as something I chose myself. Often I think the trick is finding what they are interested in the most in order to get them to read. As someone stated earlier Comic Books are still reading. I have two girls and they love books, but they are only 7 and 5, so I can only imagine the challenges of getting a 16 year to read.

Leave a Reply

