Things I Love Thursdays: chocoholic’s dream bread

tilt.jpgThis blog carnival is called Things I Love Thursday. The rules are simple: “pick an actual thing that you love. Feel free to do a product review, but make sure to let your readers know that you have been supplied with the product to review so we are keepin’ it honest.” Yes, this post is an endorsement to be sure, but again, it is a product I have always paid for, and have not been supplied with for the purpose of a review. For more excellent things that bloggers love, check out The DiaperDiaries.net.

The biggest problem with chocolate is it doesn’t fill one up (HA! like that’s the only problem with chocolate, along with calories and fat and caffeine and stains and melted M&Ms in the dryer!). Chocolate fires the desire to continue eating it. Self-control is a heavy responsibility. When Tessa made this find in the bakery section of the grocery store, we had no idea of the greatness of the discovery.

PhotobucketPresident’s Choice Chocolate Chip Miche bread is the answer to many prayers (no offense to those who pray for real). It is heavy with chocolate chips, and the bread isn’t a raisin-bread kind of eggy thing, but a solid sourdough that anchors the unsweetened chocolate taste. It’s crusty, but that peels off quite easily for people who value the roof of their mouth. It toasts up like a dream, or is rippable in the front seat of the car (thank you Tessa). And best of all, the kids can eat a slice or two and feel as though they’ve made out like bandits—tastebuds satiated AND tummies full.

QUESTION FOR YOU, AND THIS IS SO SPECIFIC I’LL BE SHOCKED TO GET EVEN ONE REPLY: do any of you fabulous readers have a recipe for a bread like this? I haven’t baked bread for years, but my sister is a master bread baker, and if I furnish her with the recipe, I know she’ll give it a whirl (if you are reading this, sister dear, I’ll let you know!). Thank you friends, in advance!

See you tomorrow!


3 Responses

  1. Sorry Jacquelyn, no recipe!

    I just wanted to comment to describe a chocolate chip bread from Montreal I loved when I lived there. It was from Pain Doré, a chain of bakeries. It was a mini loaf that they would slice for me, studded with tasty chocolate chips. The bread was very light, I would toast it and eat it for breakfast (who says you can’t eat chocolate for breakfast! Why not?). The French eat chocolate croissants.

    I miss it–I’m going to try it and let you know how this one goes down.

    Helen

  2. I will have to try that bread, it sounds very good. I used to make a chocolate bread that my son loved, but it was all chocolate not just chocolate chips.

  3. I don’t have a recipe like the bread you described however I do have a banana bread recipe that I enhanced that I found very enjoyable I could share it with you if you’d like 🙂
    Or perhaps I should just say take your favorite banana bread recipe and add the following… chocolate chips, 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup unsweetened baking cocoa; marachino cheeries (optional & not sure if I spelled that correctly); walnuts (again optional) …. you might consider one more optional addition and that is shredded coconut. Amount to be determined by you.
    Hope this helps 🙂 it is like a full meal in just a slice or two.

Leave a Reply

