Things I Love Thursday: Rescue Remedy

tilt.jpgThis blog carnival is called Things I Love Thursday. The rules are simple: “pick an actual thing that you love. Feel free to do a product review, but make sure to let your readers know that you have been supplied with the product to review so we are keepin’ it honest.” Yes, here is an endorsement to be sure, but again, it is a product I have always paid for, and have not been supplied with for the purpose of a review. For more excellent things that we love, check out The DiaperDiaries.net.

rescueremedy.jpgI was introduced to Bach’s Rescue Remedy maybe 20 years ago when my ancient Himalayan kitty Suki stopped letting me comb her out, and I had to resort to a groomer. This groomer was fabulous (the only one I have ever used), and let me in on one of her secrets—a drop of this herbal tincture, and my kitty would enjoy be groomed, clipped and sheared. And there was a million dollars in my bathtub too, I thought.

Shame on doubting me! The Rescue Remedy worked. The groomer said she was including the bottle in the original price of the service, because since I had “two cats, two kids, a job and a husband” she told me it would work equally well for all of us! It took me a trip to a health food store to confirm it, but yes, it could be used for people too. I tried it for anxiety-producing situations: large-group meetings with lots of stress; scary trips to doctors; a flight. I did not give it to the kidlets. Gravol had the reverse effect on Graydon—wound him up like a top—so nothing like that for them. But for me? Excellent.

I was speaking to a friend last year who had been through some very serious times with a chronically ill child (I think she had hook-ups in 12 departments of the pediatric hospital), job loss, new job, family deaths, and she’d made it through with prescriptions. When we spoke, she was down to her spray bottle of Rescue Remedy only.

I’m no snake oil salesman, but here’s what’s in it:
Rock Rose – for terror and panic
Impatiens – for irritation and impatience
Clematis – for inattentiveness and to counteract faintness
Star of Bethlehem – for shock
Cherry Plum – for irrational thoughts and lack of self control
It’s a five-times dilution of the oils of these flowers in a grape alcohol solution. Hmmm, maybe….

Naw!

If you have time for some fun, go this link at Bach’s Flower Remedy Shop, where you can pop in your problems and find out the best remedy for you.

images-4.jpgI prefer the spray to the drops, although I know people who make a tea and add the drops to that. They also have pastilles, but I’ve yet to see them at my shop.

QUESTIONS FOR YOU: do you believe in this sort of thing? Do you think it’s the flowers or the alcohol? Do you like the naturopathic/herbalist angle, or are you better with a double scotch and some Nytol for a long flight? And, have you ever given your kids something herbal for anxiety? I’d love for you to share!

Don’t forget to click over to The Diaper Diaries for more things to love…


4 Responses

  1. I believe it is the flowers. I am all about natural medicine. Modern day pharmacology has nearly killed me only 3 times in the last year.

  2. Ok, I have to look into this. It sounds like an old wives tale, but you have completely piqued my interest.

  3. I also love this product- I use it at night when my mind is going in all directions and preventing me from sleep. My 9 year old daughter has same problem at night occasionally, and she asked for it!!!I need my sleeping spray!!! I would recommend it highly, better than drugs.

  4. It really doesn’t taste bad at all like i thought it would… I’d use it again.

Leave a Reply

