Sell-Your-Kid Contest winners announced!

PhotobucketThis is my little guy, Luka, descending the ladder at the dock, slowly. V-e-r-y s-l-o-w-l-y. That speck in the background is me, not hovering, not grasping, not crowding. Giving the lad his time to become one with the water. This is the kid I was selling 10 days ago.
Congratulations to Laura and Anne, tied winners for the Sell-Your-Kid Contest (that title sounds suspect to me now—it was a fun exercise to put down in words what makes your child adorable, now it sounds vaguely like a Rosetta Stone CD for trafficking in child labour). Thank you to everyone who participated—the love just sparkled in your descriptions.

Comments from the judge (staff editor on Canadian Living magazine) on Laura’s entry: “She encapsulated honesty and humour in just a few short words.”

“Joey is a busy 4-year-old boy who always knows exactly what he wants and can negotiate you out of your grandmother’s jewellery. Loves Spider-Man and imitations of same. Will bore you to tears with Scooby-doo imitations. Cuteness and vivcacity in spades which makes up for all of the above. Before long, you’ll be paying me for Joey-time.”

The judge’s comment on Anne’s entry: “What a perceptive gran!”

“I have 3 grown adults for “kids” these days but I also now have 3 beautiful granddaughters …. who should I attempt to describe ??? I think I’ll start with my oldest son & work my way down …

A ~ Hard working but really enjoys to relax with video games. Enjoys his family and friends, likes to be creative in most any form. Don’t be fooled he loves to argue for the fun of it! (male, age 29)

S~ Insightful, considerate,take charge or sit back & follow whatever the situation needs she can handle it … can have moody times, but generally a most enjoyable person to be with day in & out. Fun loving, creative, and everyone who meets her usually loves her! (Female,age 27)

J ~ Quiet, quick witted, hard working. Loves his family & friends. For his free time he perfers to spend time in the pool if that isn’t possible then reading by the hour or watching tv relaxes him greatly. (Male,age 25)

On to the granddaughters )

K~ Very bright with an active imagination. Lots of fun and high energy ~ she can & does sit & play quietly on her own as required or needed. Loves to read or make up stories. Loves to run and jump, dance around and especially loves to laugh.
Can be sensitive to loud voices. (age 3 1/2 belongs to the 25 yr old male)

A~ Quiet until she decides she is comfortable in any given situation. Once comfortable she loves to play. Can be bossy. Coloring, reading or games & puzzles. If necessary she can & does handle playing quietly by herself. (age 2 1/2 belongs to the 29 yr old male)

K~ Curious, fun loving, demands constant attention or at the very least supervision (due to her age). Likes to explore her surroundings and surprisingly will sit for some shows and some stories. Perfers to be on the move likes her freedom to move from room to room. Don’t let her climb stairs alone!
(age 1 1/2 sister to the 3 1/2 belongs to the 25 yr old male).

That is so very difficult … I’m sure if I had loads of time to really fine tune those descriptions might get much closer to the whole picture … I did try to keep them balanced, honest without leaving off the some times unpleasant side of each one but even that can be so subjective to mood/ time of day or circumstances that you need to be extremely selective on how to describe that aspect.
Anyway I’m glad I had a chance to play )
And good luck to those in the contest!
Hope my descriptions were fun for you to read.”

Click back to read all the entries!

Laura and Anne, send me your mailing address to jacquelyn.momblog@yahoo.ca and your Tim’s card will be in the next post!

QUESTION FOR YOU: Did you know there are more than 399 Tim Hortons in the United States now?? Do you know where they are?? Buffalo, Rochester (New York), Detroit, Flint, Saginaw, Bay City, Midland, Lansing(Michigan), Columbus, Dayton, Toledo (Ohio), Erie (Pennsylvania), Charleston, Huntington, Wheeling (West Virginia), Maine, Rhode Island and Connecticut. And, did you know the Tim Horton’s website has a trip planner, so you put in where you want to go, and it’ll show you where every single Tim Horton’s is on your route. From my place to my brother’s family in the States, 53 Tim Horton’s. I think I need a coffee!

2 Responses

  1. I’m not a big fan of the coffee, but kudos to Timmies for taking over the role as designated restroom for the traveller. Remember when a car trip used to mean finding a gas station that didn’t look too scary or dirty and then getting the key from the guys that was missing a few teeth and whose fingernails made you wish you didn’t have to pee?

  2. I haven’t seen a Tim Horton’s near where I live yet. I guess it is a matter of time. I will check that trip planner–maybe there is a tour of Tim Horton’s?

Leave a Reply

