Things I Love Thursday: Dermalogica

tilt.jpgThis blog carnival is called Things I Love Thursday. The rules are simple: “pick an actual thing that you love. Feel free to do a product review, but make sure to let your readers know that you have been supplied with the product to review so we are keepin’ it honest.”

a_dm.gifDisclaimer: Back in the day I had a seemingly endless supply of cosmetics, skin treatments, hair products, perfumes, you name it, across my desk. Products stacked up as my staff and I played with, sampled and tested stuff to decide which ones would get recommended and which would join little office sales to benefit women’s shelters. One of the standouts, from the first time I felt the oh-so-soft texture of the Daily Microfoliant, with rice bran, rice starch, salicylic acid, green tea, grapefruit, oatmeal and licorice, was Dermalogica. So, though I did receive the =product to review, it’s long gone, and yes, I have spent my own hard-earned cash to continue my addiction.

Dermalogica’s latest line had me from—as Nancy Grace says—the get-go. Age Smart, not age-defying, not spackle to even out skin tone, or botox to fill the lines, or anti-ageing, or fighting or combating. This line of product is all about being smart about aging,working with what you’ve got and making your skin feel smooth and beautiful.

These are the most amazing products:

ah_age.gifdsr_age.gifmap15_age.gifmvpf_age.gifrlc_age.gifpr_age.gif

For my product reviews, I won’t say what makes the product work in the technical sense because you can get that from the information-stuffed website. I’ll just give the briefest end-user review.

Antioxidant Hydramist: spritz all over after cleansing and lightly drying, and you can actually feel your skin inhaling this mist.

Dynamic Skin Recovery SPF30: covers your SPF concerns while sinking into the skin and feeling good, unlike many sunscreens when they meet your already applied moisturizers. Both products in one = bonus!

Map – 15 Regenerator: coolest product this year! A fine powder that turns into a creamy emulsion when you rub it into your skin. I either put it directly on my skin or mix it with a little glob of moisturizer. It’s a water soluble vitamin C derivative, and makes my skin bright and feel firm and vitaminized, if that’s a word!

MultiVitamin Power Firm: miracle eye cream, that makes the skin around your eyes feel strong and resilient, not delicate and inelastic.

Renewal Lip Concept: my lips might not be as big as Angelina’s, but they feel just as alluring after this application: lips are soft, plump, few lines, and they feel great.

Power Rich: The most fabulous line in the product, loved it while I had it, and have used it all up. I’m waiting for a big payday to re-buy. You can test your abilities on how well you can empty a tube of product with this one, because you won’t want to lose a smear.

You can buy Dermalogica at spas and salons with professional skin therapists who know the product. The idea is to have a service called face-mapping, which allows the Dermalogica-trained technician (cosmeceuticalologist? I don’t think that’s the term) to have a really good look at your skin and ask you many, many questions about your skin, how it feels, what bugs it, etc. until the cosmeceuticalologist-therapist-technician can tell you what will make your skin very, very happy. Then you can have services, or just buy the product and hive off home.

When I’m using Dermalogica, I can say my skin feels the best it ever has. There is never excess product, no tightening feeling, no extra pearls of moisture anywhere. I always get compliments for the most unlikely people about how good my skin looks when I’m on a regimen.

Here’s an admission: I bought and used Jessica Simpson’s Proactiv. Dud. Too lazy to get my money back, Tessa, my 17-year-old daughter, has tried it and reports it does make your skin look better until you stop, then you skin looks worse. Hmmm. When my Deralogica runs out, the good tone and condition of my skin lives on for quite a while.

I wait until the next pay cheque coincides with a “What have I done for myself lately? I’m being swallowed by this mother-parent-breadwinner thing! Help!” moment, and away we go to visit Dermalogica!

Visit the site, because it’s not just about 40-something skin; it starts with skin care dedicated to 20-year-olds, then grows with its clientele until the 60s and 70s. I don’t know about you, but I feel pretty special being taken care of by these scientists! (Plus, on the website you’ll see a Who’s Who of international magazines that have praised the products in their editorial coverage.)
See you tomorrow!

6 Responses

  1. Well that report would sway anyone. This stuff sounds great. Going to have to do some research. My skin can always use a little help.

  2. I forget the exact name of the products I had but it was a set of an exfoliant and moisturizer and it worked WONDERS. I don’t like to advertise products but I’ll think of this more as my opinion and not a statement made to help sell. The fact is I loved it, almost cried when it ran out, and it was for sure worth the money.

  3. Hello. I did not see any prices. Is this line expensive? Is it carried by Sephora?

  4. Sounds fantastic! I’ll have to look into these products. Thanks for the recommendation. It’s been too long since I had some really nice skin care products.

  5. I wouldn’t have put this stuff on my blog if I were not a total devotee. I have tried so many skin products it’s ridiculous, and the only other one to reach these heights was Creme de la Mer (I used the entire pot as slowly as I could and yes, the difference was noticeable, but there was no line of products, and I’m into so much chaos in my life, I need a line of something to depend on!).

    Maria, I’m with you on the sadness when a bottle runs out.

    Mena, apparently Dermalogica is not available at Sephora. If you go to the site http://www.dermalogica.ca all you need to do is put in a postal code and you can see who carries it (you can also put in a zip code). It’s no bigger sticker shock than Estee or Shiseido or any number of brands. I haven’t looked at an Olay product in about a hundred years and nearly fell over when I saw the prices. Besides, if you’re used to shopping at Sephora, you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

    Andrea, check it out. Jada Pinkett-Smith, Victoria Beckham. Amanda Bynes, Miro Sorvino, Katie Holmes and Viveca Fox all use this line. And they be lookin’ fine!

  6. I have only high praises for this stuff. I use the microexfoliant and the daily cream and I have really bad sensitive skin and this is the only thing that works. I ran out of it and thought I’d just go to Shopper’s show them the container and see what they have that would equate to the Dermalogica and after two days and a lot of money I realized that when I find a good thing don’t ruin it by being lazy and changing. I would work overtime to have this on my face!

Leave a Reply

