Things I Love Thursday: slow down and smell the lavender/roses/bergamot

tilt.jpgThis blog carnival is called Things I Love Thursday, and is hosted by The Diaper Diaries. The rules are simple: “pick an actual thing that you love. Feel free to do a product review, but make sure to let your readers know that you have been supplied with the product to review so we are keepin’ it honest.”

Today’s disclaimer: Conair did not send me one of these—I bought one for Graydon, my 15 year old, and one for me, for Christmas this past year. I thought we both could use any help we could get to bring calm to our lives.

hw_ar04b.jpgI really do love my Conair Aromatherapy Revitalizer. I have long believed in the benefits of aromatherapy in its simplest form: the smell and feel of a baby’s downy head, fresh ground coffee, a favourite perfume. I have tried and now shun the plug-in-the-wall room fresheners (plus I can’t stand all the TV ads of elephant homemakers expounding on the latest three-minute-dial-a-fake-smell thing—love the one with the couple sitting on the giant fish, though).

I had bamboo sticks sitting in hibiscus water four years ago (thanks to Canadian company Fruits and Passion, I LOVE that product too, and everything else they make), but nothing offered an instant flood of pure fragrance, was easy to use, required no electricity or burning and was reasonably priced (I’d love to bathe in my two favourite fragrances of all time, Chanel Chance or L’Instant de Guerlain, all day, but alas, no provider).

My little Conair device is a bit different from the one pictured here: it has a resevoir in the bottom for water, you drop in a little aromatherapy or essential oil, snap the top back on and a little fan in the lid instantly wafts the fragrance out. It takes two AA batteries, of which I use rechargeables, so it’s always ready to go. I have mine at work in my office, where I receive daily updates from colleagues on the scents that are working and not for them as they walk by. So far, it’s thumbs down for citrus of the mandarin/lemon variety, horizontal on the pink grapefruit, and thumbs up on lavender, ylang ylang, begamot, clary sage and mimosa.

The joys of this little baby are: battery operated and portable, so you can use it anywhere to keep your equlibrium—home, office, weekend trips, the car, the cottage; quiet, practically silent; instant on and off; no fire hazard; cheap!

So that’s it from me. Now check the other bloggers over at The Diaper Diaries and what they love!

QUESTION FOR YOU TODAY: are you getting up early to watch the opening ceremonies of the Olympics tomorrow morning? Will you have any company?

2 Responses

  1. Does it put out a light scent? Cause I don’t do overwhelming scents well, but if it is really light I might really like this.

  2. To answer your question, another sweet feature of this gadjet is you control the strength of the scent by how much you put in and by how concentrated an essential oil you buy. A couple of drops will be a light scent, especially if you turn it off once you like the level. Then when you feel like a boost, just turn it on again. I start with a flood, then ease back through the day.

Leave a Reply

