Things I Love Thursday: Nic’s Sticks

tilt.jpgWorks-For-Me-Wednesdays is on hiatus while Shannon enjoys the summer with her kidlets, so I searched for another blog carnival that offers great links that parents can use. This one is called Things I Love Thursday, and is hosted by The Diaper Diaries. The rules are simple: Try and pick an actual “thing” that you love. Feel free to do a product review, but make sure to let your readers know that you have been supplied with the product to review so we are keepin’ it honest. I suspect it’s a young carnival, because there’s a very manageable number of links—you might like that. Here goes!

The kids and I go north once a year to The Lodge, a phenomenal lodge that was once a working guest lodge and now has been taken over for family and close friends. The weekend we go there are upwards of 14 kids, predominantly small kids and predominantly girls. It’s a slow, year-long brainstorming and collecting effort to come up with new and novel stuff to do with them, because if the rain socks you in, those days are sssooooooooo long.

textme.jpgThis year’s find—courtesy of my sister, who reads every mag under the sun in her pursuit of good design, told me about them and said they were worth the $10—is Nic’s Sticks by OPI. IMPORTANT: the folks at OPI didn’t give me any. I bought my own. I have “Cram for an Exam,” “Baby Go Bye-Bye” and “Are We There Yet?”

It’s nail polish in a marker: no spillage! No need to find a place to put the bottle! No dipping! You just give it a couple of shakes, click the supply clicker and paint. I can’t wait to debut this one for the girlies!

In the meantime, you can go here to the OPI site and play an interactive paint-your-nails game where you choose you skin tone and pick a colour, then paint away.

QUESTION FOR TODAY: after tattoos, nail polish, makeup and braiding hair, are there any other self-adornments for house-bound little kids?

Don’t forget to check for other Thing I Love Thursday posts.

7 Responses

  1. Since I seem to be very challenged when it comes to painting my own nails, I must check these out. Can’t help you with your question much. We do a lot of dress up around here.

  2. i love the concept! it would make painting my nails on breaks here at work terribly easy 🙂

  3. I am such a messy nail-polish-applier that I’d love to try this. Thanks for the info!

  4. I can’t wait to try this! I’m a complete klutz with my fingers and toes!

  5. Wow, that’s pretty cool! I hardly wear nail polish because my nails are so thin that it chips like an hour after I apply it. Maybe if I had a quicker way to apply, I could enjoy it a teeny bit longer 🙂

  6. I’ve got to try this, I really want to get back into painting my nails, but with a toddler and a newborn who has the time?? Plus I might be able to pull off painting my 2 year old’s toenails!!

  7. OH MY! I am heading to Shoppers right now!

Leave a Reply

