Works for Me Wednesday: DIY haircut for kids

wfmwbanner1.jpgWho knew that haircutting ability skipped a generation? I cut my husband’s hair when we were in university and he was an ex-punk-techno- dark-and-dangerous- Depeche-Mode-early- emo guy—I thought the cut was pretty passable, maybe a little edgy, but he actually wore a touquehat for almost two weeks until he gathered the nerve to go to a barber. I have avoided the scissors ever since.

Skip forward.

Tessa is sitting Luka this summer.

Luka’s hair is surfer-dude, and he loves it.

My attempts to cut it while he is asleep have failed.

We’re watching our money.

We own expensive haircutting scissors.

Tessa has a brand-new Teen Vogue.

Using her powers of persuasion and the promise of surfer-dude haircut that is just a little shorter, Tessa got snipping. She diligently followed the line of the last cut—it was that simple. Here is the cut:
th_dsc04325.jpg
The new look—Luka wasn’t quite sold on the photo shoot concept immediately following the cut. He is notoriously camera-shy when it comes to hair stylin’

Luka is happy, Tessa saved us $12 for the cut, plus the gas and pollution of driving to and from the haircutter’s. Works for me!

Click over to the host site of Works for Me Wednesday and drop in on hundreds of bloggers for what works for them!

And before you go, PART II

My mum, who has been computer and email and Internet-surfing savvy for years and years, wrote me about my blog and said:

1) “I can’t leave a reply if you don’t ask a question.”

2) “I hope you can edit any replies before they go up for the world to see.”

Answers

1) Yes, I see if I don’t ask a question, and just wait for people to comment, many will cruise on by. So, I’ll be asking a question at the end of lots more of my postings. Any comment is welcome, loved and appreciated. Then I know at least one person read it!

2) I am my own moderator, which means yes, I can edit or clean up or calm down any reply/comment. I can change or delete your name if you ask me. Or, you can always email me at jacquelyn.momblog@yahoo.ca, which no one in the world or the magazine or the website has access to, except me!

HERE IS THE QUESTION OF THE DAY: do you or did you cut your kids’ hair? Do you have any hints for parents, siblings or grandparents who might give it a try this summer? Any disasters? You can send a photo of your handiwork!

See you tomorrow!

9 Responses

  1. I cut my kids and husband’s hair (hairs?). Anyway, works well for me and them, and saves a ton of money. I do make them go for a professional cut now and then.

    Tips:
    1. Watch the barber/stylist closely to see what they do.
    2. Boys/Men – trim around the ears first…get that length right for them, and then work from there.
    3. Work in small amounts of hair…we do-it-yourselfers tend to want to work in big chunks. Resist the temptation.
    4. Cut small lengths at first, until you feel confident. Always better to go back and cut it shorter than not have that choice!
    5. Never say “Oops” out loud.
    6. Use sharp scissors meant for hair. (If you/they start to bleed, keep it to yourself.)
    7. Keep it simple.
    8. If someone shows you a picture of a celebrity they want to look like…RUN! This is haircutting 101, not plastic surgery 101.

  2. NO WAY!!!! Then it will just be ONE more thing that I have to do. Seriously, I’ve never had any interest in cutting anybody’s hair except my own when an errant curl needs taming. And then, inevitably, the hairdresser says “Uh, did you do this yourself?”

  3. I learned long ago that it would be better for me to attempt brain surgery than hair cutting. I can’t even get my daughter’s ponytails straight.

  4. I cut my husbands most of the time and my sons some of the time. I would say give it a couple of days to decide if you like the cut or not. Here from Rocks in my Dryer. Like the post, thanks.

  5. well, I cut everyone’s hair quite often, usually it was buzz cuts for the guys & trims for the girls but the best stories are when my kids cut each others’ hair. When Dylan was 9 or 10 and Melissa 12 or 13, she gave him an undercut. I was skeptical, but she did an amazing job and didn’t cut him with the razor. The other fun story is my son Dylan giving my step son Michael a buzz cut. I’ve cut my own hair a few times too, I’ll send what photos I have to your blog e-mail.

  6. I cut my son’s hair all the time when he was little. He is impulsive and then impatient about his hair – he wants it cut the moment he decided it’s time and hates to wait (gee, I don’t know where he got that trait…). He can probably count on one hand the number of times he has actually paid for a haircut and he’s 18.
    This past Christmas on vacation on France he decided it was time to cut the locks, which were the longest they have ever been. I pleaded not to have to be the one to do it, but I gave in and used kitchen scissors from our rented flat, not ideal for hair cutting. I wouldn’t go short, short. He seemed pleased. Later on during the evening he conspired with his 16 year old sister and they cut more off!
    He’s rolling with a bit of a Duran Duran look this summer and is still trimming it himself every week or so. This I know because he seems not to understand how to fully wipe off the bathroom counter when finished.
    I have sent a before and after shot to your yahoo.

  7. I cut my daughter’s hair, but I went to hair school. I don’t think I would have ever tried it before that, though! I see what happens when parents cut themselves and it’s not pretty! I’m glad you’ve found a way to do it well, though.

  8. I USED TO CUT HAIR FOR MY BOYS (3 + HUSBAND) FOR YEARS. I EVEN CUT IT WITH MY HAND IN A CAST (SURGERY). I FINALLY HAD TO GIVE UP WHEN MY ARTHRITIS GOT TOO BAD IN MY HANDS. I REMEMBER MARATHON HAIRCUT DAYS IN THE KITCHEN WITH NEWSPAPERS ALL AROUND. IT REALLY WAS FUN. NOW THEY ARE GROWN AND DON’T GET HAIRCUTS (HA! HA!)OBVIOUSLY HAIR LENGTH IS NOT A BATTLE IN MY HOUSE, THEY WEAR IT AS LONG AS THEY WANT AND GET IT CUT WHEN THEY WANT. NOW IF I COULD GET MY HAIR TO DO WHAT I WANT IT TO DO!

  9. Who knew there were so many Vivienne Sassoons out there?

    Angela, I might almost give it another go with your tips. I love the “never says Ooops aloud” and the idea to keep bleeding to yourself. Very funny! Do you have time Saturday morning for a trim?

    Julie, I so totally agree. First it’ll be a haircut here or there, then you’ll be doing dental surgery on the kitchen table and rotating your own tires. I hear you, gurl.

    Jennifer, you have taken it a step further by getting kid-on-kid haircutting going. The work looks good (check out this Wednesday, when I’m going to post yours and some more home cuts sent in THANK YOU GUYS!!). Now, have you put a chair out back and had the kids cut their friends’ hair? Could be a relaxed summer job and count as training hours too.

    HoHoHo, your son lucked out—he got an immediate cut from his favourite stylist, and later in life if he wants to be obnoxious and trot out the “When I was in Paris” stories, he got a haircut in one of the top style cities in the world. Score!

    Pics this Wednesday. Drop back over! and thanks for the conversation.

Leave a Reply

