Mom Blog: Because I Said So! Getting kids to read

wfmwsmall1-1.jpgI’m having a huge challenge with my seven-year-old, Luka, when it comes to reading. He is lagging behind the other kids in his class, and while I have hung onto the “he was born December 21, he’s really a year younger than lots of these kids” I’m getting worried. He has been scheduled for some testing at school (I am not holding my breath with the way funding is going these days). But at home, I have thrown all caution, creativity and frugal values to the wind with our new LUKA LEARNS TO READ program. Read 10 books out loud, with NO help—his blue eyes are so beseeching that he has learned helplessness down to an art and a science—and get a Pokemon stuffie. Read 15 books, with NO help, and get another. Read 20 books, no help, get another. We raided Wal-Mart on the weekend and bought five Pokemon stuffed characters, which are now in the front closet. He can see the bag, but can’t look inside until he hits the next level. Luka is now reading two books a night. It’s crass, it’s commercial, but IT WORKS FOR ME!!

Now click on over to Rocks in My Dryer to read all kinds of useful Works for Me Wednesday tips!

2 Responses

  1. My son was reading Harry Potter in Grade 1, but my daughter was another story (no pun intended). She was in the lowest level reading group at school despite all my efforts. Now in grade 7, she is an excellent reader and writer and in the top level in her class.

    Although she was not the best reader at a younger age, she loved to make up stories. I tried to encourage her to keep a journal of all her story ideas. It’s amazing how that helped her reading and vocabulary. She’d come to me for help with words to express her ideas.

    Today, my son is still the avid reader, and my daughter the writer of the family. I am often blown away by her ability. He is better at reading to learn, and she is better at oral learning.

    My sister, who has two children much older than mine, told me not to dispair at my daughter’s reading ability at a young age. Her own daughter was the same, but now is in University on a full scholarship and the winner of countless awards.

    It is so true that children progess at different rates. But if the Pokeman toys are working, I say go for it!

  2. Just like Angela, my son was the avid reader (and still is) and my daughter was not. Unlike Angela, unfortunately, my daughter is still not a reader. She consistently makes the honour role, she is driven to achieve in so many things, but reading is NOT one of them.

    She was reading full out in kindergarten because as we taught our son to read (as he was behind the average kid) she insisted on sitting there as well and doing the same exercises. So in her very early school years, her teachers thought she was an incredible reader!

    In her case, I think it all comes down to motivation. She was motivated to learn to read because she wanted to do everything her older brother did! Aside from having to read because she has to for English class – she just won’t. It breaks my heart as I am such a book lover.

    There are two reasons to read – firstly so you can comprehend what the world has to say … and secondly because you love what it brings to your life. The first step involves skill. The second is something you cannot teach. so, I agree, if the Pokemon toys are working, do it.

Leave a Reply

