Mom blog: Because I Said So! A motherhood thought

Mom Blogger JacquelynI have been doing a lot of thinking lately (yes, I know, laugh all you like) about parenting and having children versus not having children. I’ve zeroed in on a number of comments tossed off by others, friends, celebrities (of course, some of my best friends are celebrities), strangers:
“After one kid, I gave up, I can’t imagine how you do it.”
“We’d like to have eight” (my buddy Brad).
“I just don’t like playing Lego. It’s boring. All kids’ games are boring.”
“If you already have Angie, and you can get Joshua and Jonathan off their dad, I’ll make sure I switch the times of the twins’ visit with their mom, call my brother, and we’ll make a day of it.”
“I need, I mean NEED, 10 hours of sleep a night. That, plus I can’t stand the noise that children make. And they always need to be taken care of” (no joke. I heard it).

Some people are cut out for it, some aren’t. Some think they would like to be. Others know it’s a bad idea. If only there were qualifying rounds or some gene-identification process to give people indicators early on.

Last week I bought an entertainment glossy, and I found this gem of a quote from India Hicks, mum of three good-looking blond-headed boys ages 10, 8 and 4 and a newborn girl.

“Motherhood is the answer to everything as far as I’m concerned. It takes away that ghastly thing of looking at yourself too much.”

Love it!

Have a wickedly good weekend!

4 Responses

  1. I didn’t grow up dreaming of having a big family, or any kids at all for that matter. I never felt the strong tug pulling me toward motherhood. Never really felt drawn to other people’s kids. Babysat, and was pretty good at it, but never really enjoyed it. Never wanted to a teacher, althought I was a teaching assistant–hated it! All that said, I have two children. The thing is, I adore them, and now know that I would have missed out on the best part of my life if I had not had them. The experiences I have had with them could never be replicated in any other way. The way I have grown as a person would not have happened without them. Other people’s children are work, but somehow my own aren’t, or at least not in the same way. Somehow taking care of them 23/7 just seems natural and the right thing to do. I’ve tried to explain this to friends from whom I too have heard that “they always need to be taken care of.”

  2. Angela, thank you for such an excellent comment! You get it. I used your comment as the topic for Monday’s post—the one above this one. Thanks again for reading, and call back any time.

  3. Thanks Jacquelyn! Oh and I noted I wrote “23/7.” Must have been because deep down I wanted to give my husband some credit.

  4. I’m a week late in reading & replying… wow Angela I sure can relate!!! I always wanted kids, but didn’t actually babysit much and didn’t really like it when I did. Then, I had Melissa.. wow what a transformation!!! Melissa is turning 26 on April 22 and has 2 babies of her own now. I’m so proud of her. I went on to have 3 more children and full time step-parent another from age 5 to 14. I adore them all and they’ve had a huge part in making me who I am today. My youngest is graduating from high school this June and the others are all well on their way to being fine young adults. I’s been an amazing journey to say the least!

Leave a Reply

