Mom blog: Because I Said So! WFMW Vitamin perfection

wfmwsmall1.jpg
On Day Three (Day Two, Day One) of Take those vitamins! the goal was to create a smoothie that my three kids would like enough to get a full dose of Greens+kids into them. I won’t go into the details (I always do, I know, but I won’t today), but here is:

The Winning Smoothie Recipe
half a banana
half cup vanilla soy milk (or any milk, rice or cow or sheep or goat)
1 handful frozen or fresh blueberries
1 frozen individual serving of any fruity yogurt (I stuck them in the freezer last night)
1 scoop Greens+kids
Pulse first, then whip, in the blender. Pour and serve ASAP.

All three kids liked it, so, It Works for Me!

And now, A CONTEST!!

14-1.jpg14-1.jpg
You can win 2 jars of Greens+kids—which is $100 retail, by sending in the winning answer to either of these questions:

1) What is your best technique, reward, consequence, enticement or rationale to get vitamins into your little ones?

OR

2) Your child’s own best excuse or technique to avoid taking his or her vitamins.

Type your entry into the comment box, or email it to me at jacquelyn.momblog@yahoo.ca. And send the link around—the more the merrier!

I’ll announce the winner(s) on Monday March 10, so you have until 11:59 Friday night, March 7, to put on your “clever parent” hat and tell how to get vitamins in, or your “confessional parent” hat to share the wile of your chile.

Good luck to you!

9 Responses

  1. Well.. am I actually admitting this outloud? My trick has been to open capsules and sprinkle it into their food like, cereal, applesauce, yogurt with granola already on it – that type of thing.

    Just don’t tell them I said so! 😉

  2. I’d have to answer #2: The favorite excuse is that “I think those hurt my tummy so I shouldn’t eat them. Let’s have Daddy try it.” Another one is: “Didn’t we already have those today? I’m sure we already had vitamins today! You probably forgot because you lost your brain when you had Baby H.” (the last part was overheard from a phone conversation).

  3. This has never really been an issue for us. I’ve just always put the kids’ vitamins on their breakfast plates, whole and unashamed, and they always eat the vitamins first, whatever brand or type I use.

  4. My kids eat the fruits and vegetables I give them so I don’t give them vitamins. Is that horrible? I just thought that vitamins were for kids who don’t get a lot of fruits and vegetables.

  5. Good Luck to all who are in the contest … my children did just take their vitamins when I gave them to them I honestly don’t remember how old they were when that “habit” stopped but when they were little & it was necessary they did have vitamins. Now watching my granddaughters … their parents will hand them a vitamin & they eat it no questions asked. One has standard type chewable & the other seems to like the “gummi bear” style.
    And as much as I love fruit & vegetables do I eat enough to not need a daily supplemental vitamin? Do any of us? Thanks for making us all think about vitamins! It gave me a boost to remember to “take” them instead of just acknowledge I have them!

  6. YAY Jackie!! you found a smoothie that they all like!!! The great thing about smoothies is that when they get tired of the usual flavour, it’s so easy to make other yummy flavours. An all around winning combination.

  7. I remember hiding vitamins as a child — in my nose. It worked until a red one melted. Boy, did it scare my mom AND make her mad. My kids take their vitamins pretty easily-when someone remembers which isn’t too often, which why they have a low immunity, which is why we go the doctor everyday-oh, you’re still here. Pardon me. Btw, thanks for stopping by my site. Please do so regularly as my low self esteem gets a boost when perfect strangers tell me I’m funny.

  8. Okay so this may be one of the most boring answers to the on going battle of the vitamin but my naturopath suggested something and it has worked beautifully. My daughter has a little shot glass of a potion that I have to mix up for her. We aren’t talking the syrupy, berry flavoured, candy coated stuff we’re talking the down right dirty, awful, disgusting pills and oils that naturopaths use. My daughter being allergic to food colouring is not allowed to take all that fun coated stuff. So it was a struggle every morning and night to get all the “good stuff” into her. We had mornings were we would have it on the bathroom wall instead of her mouth, on the floor because she backed away at the last minute…you name the surface we managed to coat it. I even tried the stuff one morning on my finger and man there are no words to describe the taste. So it was suggested that I say to her, “It’s not going to taste good, but if you take it you will feel better, be healthy and strong and most of all not get sick”. We use a syringe to pack it all down the gullet and in one hand I hold the syringe, she holds her nose, with the other hand I have juice ready with a straw so we can quickly move from vitamins to juice and kill the taste.
    That was followed with whatever she wanted for breakfast. Now it didn’t happen overnight and it was the simplest thing but somehow it just worked. Now in the morning she reminds me of her vitamins and I guess the thought of being well outweights the gross taste.
    What’s the saying? Keep it simple.

  9. Amazingly I do not have to coerce my two boys to take their vitamins. I have to watch them closely that they only take one. We use a “sour gummy” type vitamin — it was a real hit-or-miss process trying to find the brand that they like. I know regularly have six bottles stashed somewhere in case the manufacturer calls it quits (same goes for the flavour of toothpaste that they tolerate). Their father, on the other hand…..

Leave a Reply

