Mom blog: Because I Said So! Happy Valentine’s Day

Hope you’re feeling the love on this buy-a-card-buy-a-gift-buy-some-candy special day, Valentine’s Day. I got hugs and kisses from my littlest guy even before breakfast, so the day is off to an excellent start!

th_dsc02675.jpgth_dsc02671.jpgth_dsc02676.jpg

These are the cards that Tessa made, and Luka is giving out today to his Grade 2 girl classmates. The boys will be getting very masculine American Chopper cards complete with a tattoo—Luka is currently sporting tattoos on his neck, collarbone, hand, forearm and shin, and he sees it as a form of self-expression that can’t be beat. I know, very stereotypical sexist stuff, but he took such a major fit at the prospect of giving hearts to his guy friends that I gave in.

And what did I buy myself for Valentine’s Day?

135080024_2-1.jpg

From Danier, at 50% off, for $30. The snazziest gloves I now own, and a match for my purse colourwise, which is also new, since I never do the matchy-poo thing with shoes/bag/gloves. So I have a spring in my step.

At dinner we’ll be trading Valentine stories, and a little gift or two. I’ll share those tomorrow—maybe you’ll share yours with me?

I hope your Valentine’s Day is a good one, and that you get all the hugs and kisses you can!

5 Responses

  1. NICE GLOVES!!!! What an excellent Valentine’s Day gift. Do they come in moss green?

  2. Hi- well at least u got something without saying what u wanted. Sure i got it, the Lindor chocolates- but it would be nice to get something without asking. Or the usual when i get paid comment- i can get a card at the dollar store & a teddybear.

    Also what has irked me today- i have a friend- male- and well i figure one an get friends cards- u know the not lovey duvey sort just hello- well got the i am not doing so its inappropriate- sort of hurt my feelings

  3. Whooo, nice gloves. We didn’t do much. Youngster #2 had a FRIEND not a girl friend but a friend who is a girl (I’m secretly hoping they marry 15 years from now because she’s a cool kid)

  4. Nice gloves indeed. Im pregnant and on v-day my MIL found an old childrens valenting that was from when my husband was a kid. Makes me excited about when my son starts school and has to do the whole valentine thing! 🙂

    http://www.lightningselling.com

  5. Valentine’s Day we opted not to go for the commerialized route of celebrating … instead we had a family dinner at our son’s home… we were all there my hubby & I made dinner (baked ziti, meatballs & sweet Italian sausage… brownies & lemon squares for dessert) … by “we were all there” I mean ~ my husband & I, our sons & their wives & children & our daughter & son in law, and we were blessed to have my uncle & my mom join us. We had a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

