Mom blog: Because I Said So! Go play in the snow!

img_0510-2.jpg

Remember last week when I asked if kids should be nudged (pushed) outside to play even when it’s snowy and they don’t want to go? Read the comments, and you’ll see the overwhelming opinion was “Yes!”

This photo of Luka was taken by my friend Darlene, mum of Ehren, Luka’s “best friend,” at whose home Luka would most like to live if he couldn’t live at home, and couldn’t move in with his cousin, Kevan. Darlene, who left the first comment, firmly believes in outdoor play.

On the weekend, when the snow was still packing-grade-good, I said to Luka, why don’t we go outside to play?

“No thanks,” he says (he’s very polite).

“Why do you like playing in the snow at Ehren’s house?” I ask.

“Because it’s fun.”

“But we have just as much snow here.”

“It’s not the same.”

“How can it not be the same? It’s only a couple of blocks away.”

“We can’t build a fort here,” he says.

“Why can’t you build a fort here?”

“I don’t know. I just don’t know.”

It’s the palms-up hands, the raised shoulders and eyebrows, the cocked head, that beseeching look of “Why are you asking me this answerless question???” that cracks me up.

Mums can be SO dense.

4 Responses

  1. That’s easy!! It’s the same reason why a cup of tea always tastes better when someone else makes it for you.

  2. that is SO cute!!!!!

  3. It’s the age old mystery of why children (almost always but there are exceptions) behave better for anyone other than their parents! Who knows why they do that … so why can’t you be Ehren & build a snowfort like he does???? LOL Because you’re Luka’s mum that’s why!

  4. When my son was a kid, he’d spend most of his time with his dad, except when it came to getting his diapers changed, he would come running to me. I wonder why?

Leave a Reply

