Mom blog: Because I Said So! WFMW taking notes in the car

wfmwsmall1.jpg

It’s Wednesday, and time for a spin on Works for Me Wednesday, a blog carnival hosted by Shannon at Rocksinmydryer.typepad.com. After you’ve read what works for me and left a comment if you like, click through to Shannon’s blog, and you can read “what works for” other blog writers and readers.

TAKING NOTES IN THE CAR
Gone are the days of fumbling in my purse, glovebox or (gasp!) the floor for a scrap of paper to scribble down something I heard on the radio, or suddenly thought of, or a kid remembers out of the blue.

Gone is trying to get sticky notes to adhere to the dash for longer than 30 seconds.

Gone is the nagging concept of actually buying one of those sticky note holders that is made to be glued or bolted to the console, never to work and become the one thing that keeps my car from selling at a decent price when I finally sell it.

I just keep a roll of “invisible” Scotch tape in the car and tape a couple of lengths right on the dash, and when I need to jot, I jot right on the tape on the dash. Then, at a stoplight, or at home, I peel it off and stick it in the daytimer, or on my coffee cup or one of the kids’ foreheads.

I used masking tape in the beginning, but it looks kinda sad, like you don’t realize you shouldn’t paint the car’s dashboard.

The tape is invisible to passers-by. Then you just look like a person writing on her dash with a Sharpie.

Works for me!

4 Responses

  1. Cute idea! 🙂

  2. But not while driving, right???

    🙂

  3. Cool idea! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I just have little ones so I am lucky right now to still have left overs.
    I love your idea. I can never find anything to write on when I am listening to the radio and want to write down a phone number or a website. I will give it a try. I just hope my little ones think that it is okay to write on the dash!!

Leave a Reply

