Mom blog: Because I Said So! Eat This, Not That!

Mom Blogger JacquelynPrioritizing the getting to work early or baking cookies quandry
When I got up this morning, I knew I was in for a struggle. Get to work earlier than usual, or make cookies, in the shapes of stars, to say goodbye to my flatmate at work. I rationalized it this way: I can always be early. My friend will only be leaving today. So I had occasion to watch Rachael Ray. Rachael Ray of Rachael Ray magazine and 30 Minute Meals and now she’s going around the world to travel and eat and report. Blah blah blah. But, she had a guest who was flogging a book I HAVE ALREADY PURCHASED AND READ!! Do I feel with it, on top of it, at the very tearing edge of it???

Bona fide book review

61cj9k6rkal_bo2204203200_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_ou01_aa240_sh20_.jpg

I love this book because it uses exclamation points, it uses real life photos of real life foods and it comes from the editor-in-chief of Men’s Health, a mag I love.

Buy one. Study it. Make your kids study it. I’m buying a second one to keep in the car for shopping, drive through dining cop-outs, all times that food and fat rear their ugly heads.

Every page is excellent, so I’ll just highlight one.

Quiznos: eat the small honey boubon chicken on white bread, not the small honey mustard chicken sub. The first has 4 grams of fat (1 gram sat.), while the second has 30 grams of fat (5.5 grams sat.) HOLY!

This book tears apart and compares individual brand-name chocolates and truffles; Tostitos, Lays and Sun Chips vs. Cheetos, Pringles and Smart Food.

The photography is what makes it work for kids. They are visual creatures. Cover up the right-hand side and just let their eyes feast on the left side, and nutrition knowledge of the outside world has begun!

Movie review Monday morning
We’ll be braving opening weekend crowds for Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything.

veggiepiratesmovie.jpg

Far from hoping for inspiration from this flick, I think I’m looking for confirmation that my kids really are Veggie Pirates. We’ll see, and so will you, Monday morning.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

