Mom blog: Because I Said So! Resolutions 101

wfmwsmall1.jpg

This is my third entry into Works for Me Wednesday, a blog carnival hosted by Rocksinmydryer.typepad.com. After you’ve read my post on making resolutions, click on the link and you’ll go to the host of Works For Me Wednesdays and a list of 150 or more links to bloggers who are also posting things that work for them—recipes, parenting ideas, easy crafts, crafty tips, you get the idea.

As usual, my preamble to Resolutions 101 has become too long. So for Works for Me Wednesday readers, just jump ahead to the bold subhead. Or read the ramblings.

Making the jump from 2007 to 2008
Eeeeeewwwwww. New Year’s Eve: spent traditionally as we always have (except for last year when amazing friends—Terri and John—invited our newly downsized family to their at-home New Year’s Eve party, thank you a year later!). We ate pizza and chips, watched TV, Tessa did a little neighbourhood visiting, we yelled Happy New Year and kissed and then I tried to doze on the couch while the kids stayed up as late as they could—4:30 a.m. this year!
New Year’s Day: lunch at the ex-in-laws, no screaming until we were in our car in their driveway, and the subject was—believe it true!!!—laundry. Delicious New Year’s Day dinner at home, made by me (see tomorrow’s blog for the results of an unintentional human testing of best-before dating. I kid you not. So far, I’m the only one who knows we all ate something with a best-before date of July 11, 2007, last night. Tune in tomorrow to see if we’re all still here and well). We dined on grilled salmon with ginger teriyaki sauce, cheese and basil ravioli, green beans, and carrot cake with a cream cheese filling made by MIL. The night played out with a medium amount of screaming.

And now, resolutions.
I’m about to test Graydon on one of his. It’s 6:45 a.m. and time to get the garbage to the curb. Let’s see how he does. I’m heading up the stairs.
O.K. He failed. In refusing to get up, along with a litany of what hurts and how he couldn’t get to sleep last night and how he needs more sleep, he actually said, “I’m sorry.” Twice. So to honour him, I wore his boots and his coat on my four tramps to the end of the driveway and have confiscated the $1.50 in his pocket for my trouble.
Tessa resolved to make a list of the things she has to do before finishing high school. That gives her a YEAR AND A HALF to work on her resolutions. Smart girl. I’m guessing taking out the garbage and stealing Graydon’s glory was not one of them, so she sleeps uninterrupted.

Resolutions 101
Rules for successful resolutions:
1. Give yourself permission to fail. “Yes, I started and finished a box of chocolates within a 24-hour period. I admit it.”
2. Celebrate your successes, no matter how small. “That box of chocolates had some 70 per cent cocoa chocolates, four types of nuts and a cherry in them. I AM ON A NUTRITIONAL ROLL!”
3. Make resolutions in small, doable increments. “I will not scream at the kids each day until after they show signs of being awake.”
4. Make your resolutions precise. “I will eat one fruit per day and juice does not count.”
5. Make your resolutions realistic. “I will work out three times a week at a hip, downtown fitness centre, drive in only one day a week, have the car detailed and listen to inspirational readings while I sweat, catch up with old friends on the cell as I drive home, eat a salad and poached 3-oz chicken breast for dinner, help the children with homework and interpersonal skill-building until a 9:00 p.m. bedtime.”

My resolutions
1. Stop using ziploc bags for my makeup, office supplies, kids toys and hairclips in my purse.
2. Make a large wall chart with kids’ chores. This would be the eighth or ninth chart/schedule/reward system. I am keeping Resolutions 101 (1) top of mind for this one. Making and posting the chart is the resolution. Following it is another story.
3. Answer each and every comment on my blog. Was I supposed to be doing this? I suspect yes. Speak to recipients of my Christmas cards about this—if you can find any.
4. I will eat one fruit per day and juice does not count.
5. I will try to stop laughing at inappropriate times when around people who do not know me or my family very well. I am finally realizing that laughing about childhood cancer, OCD, depression, school suspensions, car wrecks and more makes some people uncomfortable, and I don’t like making people uncomfortable until I at least know them.
6. Follow that wall chart to household nirvana.

Please send me your resolutions and we’ll compare notes!

Bookmark me to see the best-before human consumption experiment results!

And click the Works for Me Wednesday icon to check out tons and tons of tips.

3 Responses

  1. Thank you mom. If I die from that pasta then i am not to blame.

  2. Hi, I am Christine. Mom of a 11-month-old baby. I’ve been a long-time reader of Canadian Living.Happy Holidays! I love those resolutions. I have jotted down mine in VooEasy.com though.

    I am writing to ask for your help to join private testing on my husband’s new social networking website called VOOEASY.com. The site just released its private beta version for limited testing on January 1. We need some early users to join and help make this site better, together.

    VooEasy is an innovative social network site which is very different to Facebook and MySpace. It allows people to “speak up” as *TEAMS* rather than individuals. For instance, I am a part-time student in a community college and a full-time mom. I am also a member of a community social dancing club, as well as a singer in a local choir. I can choose to speak up as myself, or “on behalf of” a member of the dancing club, or a member of the choir. I can created teams for each of my life circles (and spent some time to design cool team “VooCards” for each team) and invite my people to join the respective teams!

    VooEasy’s headline is “show all the colors in your life.” All of these are totally separate circles of friends. VooEasy will be the first place to integrate them all into ONE. Try it! You’ll be surprised how much fun it gets. For now, VooEasy will only provide a total of 3 (three) beta test accounts for readers of Canadian Living. Please follow the following link to enter VooEasy.com!

    http://beta.vooeasy.com/beta/?i=CanadianLiving

    If you are early to be one of the early users, don’t waste it. You can actually “spawn” out other invitation letter. There will be no limit on the number of invitations you can send. So, please be generous. You can send out invitation emails to friends and family, and everyone can start playing on VooEasy! Thanks for taking time to read this message. We really appreciate your help!

  3. I made one resolution many many years ago… to never make another resolution… and you guessed it, I’ve succeeded!!! (is that cheating?)

Leave a Reply

