Mom blog: Speaking sweet nothings in his sleep

Mom Blogger JacquelynMy six-year-old Luka is the light of my life—alongside the equally brilliant balls of fire Tessa and Graydon, of course.
Luka is going through the stage where he doesn’t want to “give kisses” to anyone or anything but Angel the cat, the bunnies, and select stuffed animals.
No pressure.
I can live for a certain amount of time without my six-year-old’s kisses.
The saying of “I love you” has predictably taken on a little more significance.

“I love you,” I say.

“I know that,” he says, followed a beat later by, “I love you too.”

So, last night, about an hour and a half after he fell asleep, I was in the room sneaking some laundry into a drawer when he started a brief spell of head rocking, then stretched out, rolled over, hugged his pillow and said, “I know that…blah, blah, blah.”

I almost broke a toe racing out of the room so I my laughing wouldn’t wake him.

Blah, blah, blah? If he watched Seinfeld, would he have said “I know that…yada, yada, yada”? What does blah, blah, blah mean? Was he actually talking to mummy in his dream? Was he going through his word box, endlessly reading off words he already knows? Or was it a Neoshifter battle plan he was working out? I’ll never know, and maybe that’s a good thing.

2 Responses

  1. My, just turned 5, son has stopped wanting to kiss or hug his father. He also has never, and likely will never kiss or hug either of his grannies. He will show some affection to his grampies who wrestle with him, some affection to his older sister, and the rest is for me only apparently. It really bothers people that he won’t. But in the end, I know that you can’t force kids to show affection. I have a vivid memory of some nieghbor of my parents, when I was about 6, always asking me to give them a hug or kiss and everyone laughing because I didn’t want to. I didn’t want to do that to anyone as a kid. Not sure why, was just my personality.
    If my son stops kissing me, I guess I’ll just have to be satisfied with ‘I love you’.
    And maybe I’ll add the whispers 🙂

  2. I don’t recall how my children were past the age of 5 (we used to snuggle in bed & read & tell stories) but once school began things changed … right now we as grandparents have been basking in the very affectionate kisses & hugs & “I love you’s” being freely given to us by our 3yr. old grand daughter … if her 2 yr. old cousin is around when she is being so “I love you grandma” or “grandpa” as the case may be then her cousin will also tell us that she loves us …but the 3 yr. old does this very often & repeatedly with no prompting from anyone so I will have to store it up in my memory since it is not likely to remain a long term event.

Leave a Reply

