Mom blog: Problem solved

Yesterday as I was trapped in the kitchen washing dishes before putting them in the dishwasher, my 6-year-old son raced in, breathless, from the TV (in the next room).

“Mum! Mummy! Mummy!”

I am the only one in the room.

“Mummy, I know the next thing I want to collect! And there’s only FOUR!”
For parents who know how many Bidimon, YuGiOh and Pokemons there are to collect, four sounds like the impossible dream.

“Luka. For you—”

“I gotta go back mum, sorry!” and he charges back around the corner to where the commercial is still playing.

I wash more dishes. Fifteen seconds later he races back (the commercial must have been over).

“So, there’s only four, and that’s what I want to collect, OK???”

So I start in on a reality reminder: “Honey, I would have to get a job on the weekends, and work at an office every night until 9 o’clock, to be able to afford all the toys you want.”

“All right!!!” he shouts, then flings himself at me, hugs me tight with his eyes squeezed shut, and runs back to the living room.

I guess that’s a done deal!

Leave a Reply

